UPSC Syllabus and Other Aspects of Exams

UPSC released its syllabus every year. You can check its Syllabus on Civil Services Exam official websites. It is broadly assorted into two parts: one is Prelims and other one is Mains. So, Prelims consist only objective type question. Whereas, Mains consist only subjective question. However, in the selection process, they count only Prelims marks.

Through this article you will get the overview of the syllabus and some additional links containing in depth information.

IAS exam Syllabus

The UPSC has divide the syllabus into three successive stages

1. Preliminary Examination (objective)

2. Mains Examination (subjective)

3. Personality Test (Verbal)

1. Syllabus for UPSC Prelims

The prelims Exam test the aspirant’s reasoning ability and analytical ability. And, It consist of two objective types paper (multiple choice question) that contain 200 marks, each question allocated 2 marks for correct answer. So, one paper is General Studies and other one is CSAT. Those candidates who does not qualify in this exam are screen out. After that the remaining candidate proceed in Mains Examination. However, the marks obtained in the prelims are not counted in the merit list.

Check it out here !

2. Syllabus for UPSC Mains

The Mains Examination is very crucial for selection in final process. So, each and every scores in the mains exam is essential as it is counted in final process. So, this examination assess the individual learning process. Moreover, it analyze the aspirants depth in the subject. Rather than memorizing and rote learning, the exam analyze the understanding of the concerning matter.

Mains examination consists 9 subjective paper in which two papers are qualifying paper, carrying 300 marks each.  And the remaining seven paper include: Essay Paper, GS Paper I-IV and Optional Paper I-II. So, each seven papers contains 250 marks.

Check it out here!

Get to know the worth information

Leave a Comment